Clinton County comes away with quarterfinal win over Franklin

Are you looking to buy a house that you can call “home”? Are you wanting to sell and wonder how much your home is worth? Let Ken Waddell with RE/MAX Real Estate Executives help you through the process and make your home buying or selling experience go smoothly! Call or text Ken TODAY at (270) 779-5379.

Clinton County is headed back to the Region 4 Tournament semifinals.

The Bulldogs, taking on Franklin-Simpson in the last quarterfinal matchup, had to battle with the Wildcats but made more plays down the stretch and used a strong defensive fourth quarter to come away with a 53-42 win on Wednesday night at E.A. Diddle Arena.

Chase Stines led the way for Clinton County (24-7 overall) – which will face Warren Central in Monday’s 7:45 p.m. semifinal – with 13 points, while Nick Brown scored 10. 

Andreyous Miller carried the Wildcats, who finished their season 14-16, with 25 points.

Evan Dearborn’s 3-pointer at the 4:00 mark of the first quarter gave Clinton County a 10-3 lead and triggered a Franklin-Simpson timeout. Caleb Guffey later converted a three-point play to put the Bulldogs up 13-5, and they led 15-7 after eight minutes of action. 

Blake Melton’s triple with just over five minutes remaining in the second put Clinton County up 22-11 – and he hit another on the next possession to quickly make it 25-11 Bulldogs. 

Bryson Cross scored inside to give Clinton County a 27-18 lead, and it took that same advantage into the locker room at the break. 

Franklin-Simpson got within 34-28 with 4:00 remaining in the third, and its deficit was at just 41-36 entering the fourth.

Nick Brown’s triple with 4:03 left put the Bulldogs up 46-38, and Stines scored inside to make it a 10-point contest with 2:56 left. 

The Wildcats got it back within single digits, but Clinton County was able to come away with the 11-point victory to extend its season. 

FSHS –   7    11   18    6    —   42

CCHS – 15   12   14   12   —   53

FS: Andreyous Miller 25, DeMarco Chatman 4, Demarcus Hogan 4, Kyjuan Stutzman 3, Isaac Marshall 2, Tedric Partinger 2, Dawson Knight 2. 

CC: Chase Stines 13, Nick Brown 10, Blake Melton 10, Caleb Guffey 9, Evan Dearborn 6, Bryson Cross 5. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: